NASEO Board Elects Kelley Smith Burk, Jason Lanclos to Executive Committee, Welcomes New Board Members

Source: NASEO

The National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO) welcomed several members to Board and leadership positions this week during the NASEO 2020 Energy Policy Outlook Conference and Innovation Summit in Washington, D.C.

Kelley Smith Burk, Director of the Office of Energy in the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, will serve as NASEO’s Vice Chair and Jason Lanclos, Director of the Technology Assessment Division in the Louisiana Department of Natural Resources, as Parliamentarian. Smith Burk and Lanclos join NASEO Chair Andrew McAllister (California), Treasurer Molly Cripps (Tennessee), and Past Chair Robert Jackson (Michigan) in forming the NASEO Executive Committee, which coordinates and recommends actions for the NASEO Board of Directors.

“Thank you to NASEO’s membership and staff for entrusting me with the position of Vice Chair,” said Smith Burk. “I look forward to advancing and continuing to learn about the important work of my fellow State Energy Offices.”

“NASEO has been a crucial partner in advancing the energy policy conversation in Louisiana,” noted Lanclos. “I’m happy to have the opportunity to pay it forward by encouraging more states to engage with NASEO.”

“We’re thrilled to have Kelley and Jason on our Executive Committee,” added David Terry, NASEO Executive Director. “I’m confident that the leadership that they bring to Florida and Louisiana will translate into important actions on the Board, and have a significant positive impact across our membership.”

NASEO also welcomed several new members to serve as regional representatives on the NASEO Board of Directors, including Patrick Woodcock, Interim Commissioner for the Massachusetts’ Department of Energy Resources (for the Northeast region); Chad Kruse, Manager of the Office of Energy for the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (for the Midwest region); and Will Toor, Executive Director of the Colorado Energy Office and Joe Francis, Associate Program Director for the Assistance Division of the Nebraska Department and Environment and Energy (for the Central region).

For more information on NASEO’s Board of Directors, visit