State Energy Official Appointed to DOE Industrial Technology Innovation Advisory Committee

Source: NASEO

NASEO congratulates Jolene Sheil, Focus on Energy Portfolio Manager at the Office of Energy Innovation – Public Service Commission of Wisconsin, on her appointment by the Secretary of Energy to the Industrial Technology Innovation Advisory Committee (ITIAC).

Ms. Sheil is among 18 science, business, academic, governmental, and industry leaders appointed to ITIAC to help enhance America’s industrial sector, which accounts for about one-third of U.S. energy use and greenhouse gas emissions. ITIAC is a federal advisory committee whose members will report directly to the Secretary of Energy with a comprehensive strategy to accelerate the development of technologies and processes that will reduce emissions across the U.S. industrial sector and move the nation closer to a net-zero emissions economy by 2050. In developing recommendations, the committee will provide a wide range of community perspectives to ensure that industrial decarbonization strategies will directly and equitably benefit the industrial workforce and surrounding communities, including those that have been historically marginalized and underserved.

Ms. Sheil manages the Focus on Energy Program, Wisconsin’s statewide energy efficiency and renewable energy program, building on her extensive experience in planning, managing, and implementing energy efficiency and renewable energy efforts across different scopes, including business, city planning, and environmental sustainability. She is also a member of the NASEO State Industrial Working Group. The Working Group, in partnership with the U.S. DOE’s Industrial Efficiency and Decarbonization Office, is working with State Energy Offices, economic development agencies, and technical assistance providers to identify, develop, and enhance resources to help manufacturing industries meet their goals and state objectives for economic development and competitiveness, emissions reduction and environmental protection, and energy reliability, resilience, and security. For more information on the Working Group, please contact